信仰間

尊重世界上所有信仰的不同信仰和獨特貢獻是耶穌基督後期聖徒教會的標誌。從信仰的早期開始,約瑟夫·斯密 (Joseph Smith) 在撰寫 溫特沃斯信 並包括以下關於宗教寬容的具體聲明:“我們根據自己的良心要求享有敬拜全能上帝的特權,並允許所有人享有同樣的特權,讓他們以他們可能的方式、地點或內容敬拜”(文章信仰 1:11)。

世界的精神和物質需求需要不同信仰之間的善意和合作。每個人都為更大的信徒社區做出了寶貴的貢獻。用早期教會使徒奧森·惠特尼的話來說,“上帝正在使用不止一個人來完成他偉大而奇妙的工作。後期聖徒無法做到這一切。對於任何一個人來說,它都太大了,太艱鉅了。”因此,教會成員不將世界各地的信徒同胞視為對手或競爭對手,而是將其視為世界上眾多公益事業的合作夥伴。

宗教關係

在最近的 宗教間會議 2022年11月3日在巴厘島舉行的G20跨宗教論壇主辦方邀請了耶穌基督後期聖徒教會的領導人。十二使徒定額組的加里·E·史蒂文森長老在會見不同信仰傳統的領袖時談到了寬容、希望與和平,這些都引起了他的共鳴。史蒂文森長老說:“我們與信仰者的共同價值觀迫使我們建立不同信仰間理解的橋樑,促進種族和諧關係 [並] 促進整個社會的公平。”

耶穌基督的教會正在積極建立和培養不同信仰間的伙伴關係和理解。例如,今年早些時候,教會出版小冊子將穆斯林(伊斯蘭教的追隨者)和後期聖徒介紹給彼此。 

十二使徒定額組的加里·E·史蒂文森長老在 G20 宗教會議上與 Nahdlatul Ulama 中央委員會總主席 Kyai Haji Yahya Cholil Staquf 分享了“穆斯林和後期聖徒:信仰、價值觀和生活方式”這本小冊子Intellectual Reserve, Inc. 於 2022 年 11 月 2 日星期三在印度尼西亞巴厘島舉行的論壇。保留所有權利。

史蒂文森長老說:“儘管存在宗教差異,但當公民學會尊重和團結地共處時,我們就有了實現真正和平的基石。” “耶穌基督的福音呼籲我們為了共同利益而愛所有信仰、文化、種族和國家的人——在上帝面前都是一樣的 

在當地,教會參與了許多領域的跨信仰活動,從食品分發到由不同信仰經營的食品儲藏室,到在歷史悠久的西區摧毀了另一個信仰的教堂的毀滅性火災後參與清理工作,再到參與聯合聖誕節計劃與其他信仰,以及在地方層面開展的其他活動。 

此外,30 多年來,教會一直是 I內華達州南部信仰委員會 它是每年秋季的定期參與者 宗教論壇 和其他由 IFCSN 贊助的跨信仰活動。通過這些論壇,教會和 IFCSN 正在努力促進內華達州南部不同信仰和文化社區的人們之間的相互理解、尊重、欣賞和合作。 

重要的是要注意跨宗教合作不需要教義上的妥協。儘管教會堅持其教會獨立性並承認其教義差異,但這並不妨礙它在慈善項目和其他聯合活動中與其他信仰合作。 

我們這樣做的目的是通過與他們建立關係並幫助他們了解教會,幫助推進教會的使命,最重要的是,幫助滿足上帝兒女的需要。 

鼓勵教會成員熟悉其支會和支聯會邊界內的其他禮拜堂,並虔誠地尋求機會為其他信仰的人服務或與之互動。永遠記住人不是項目;他們是我們的兄弟姐妹——人生旅途中的同路人。我們希望一起走過生活,互相幫助找到克服路上障礙和絆腳石的力量。 

最近的新聞:

網站公佈了內華達州孤山神廟的建造地點!

12/12/2022 2022 年 12 月 12 日星期一,耶穌基督後期聖徒教會總會會長團宣布……

McCullough Hills Stake 為三個當地慈善機構舉辦了成功的服務項目

McCullough Hills Stake 本月為三個當地慈善機構協調了一個成功的服務項目。股份的成員作為...

GIVING MACHINES 在拉斯維加斯開幕!

2022 年 11 月 16 日,Light the World Giving Machines 在薩默林市中心開幕。自 2017 年以來,耶穌基督的教會……

內華達州帕納卡舉行第七屆年度社區祈禱日

2022 年 11 月 6 日,第七屆年度內華達州帕納卡社區祈禱日取得了巨大成功。這是最大的…

KTNV 拉斯維加斯早間混合電視節目重點介紹了贈送機器

KTNV 的 The Morning Blend 主持人與捐贈機器委員會主席喬伊斯·霍爾德曼 (Joyce Haldeman) 和艾比·奎因 (Abby Quinn) 坐下來,……

拉斯維加斯獲得第二聖殿

耶穌基督後期聖徒教會將在未來幾個月內建造 18 座新的主之殿……

在內華達州南部完成了超過 65 個志願者服務項目,以紀念 9/11 國慶服務和紀念日

2022 年 9 月,內華達州南部的後期聖徒與其他人一起在拉斯維加斯全國范圍內提供服務——為了紀念……

耶穌基督後期聖徒教會支持當地食品儲藏室

拉斯維加斯對食物的持續需求導致耶穌基督後期聖徒教會繼續提供食品儲藏室……

歷史保護委員會授予作者榮譽

Fred E. Woods 一直對拉斯維加斯著迷,從他的童年時代開始,當時他的家人開車去……

JustServe 夏季服務賓果遊戲

不要讓夏天的無聊佔據你的房子! JustServe 在整個拉斯維加斯都有服務項目,而且很容易……

INTERFAITH

A respect for the diverse beliefs and unique contributions of all the world’s faiths is a hallmark of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. From the faith’s earliest days, Joseph Smith elevated the principle of religious liberty and tolerance when he penned the Wentworth Letter and included the following specific statement about religious tolerance: “We claim the privilege of worshiping Almighty God according to the dictates of our own conscience, and allow all men the same privilege, let them worship how, where, or what they may” (Articles of Faith 1:11).

The spiritual and physical needs of the world require goodwill and cooperation among different faiths. Each makes a valuable contribution to the larger community of believers. In the words of early Church apostle Orson F. Whitney, “God is using more than one people for the accomplishment of his great and marvelous work. The Latter-day Saints cannot do it all. It is too vast, too arduous, for any one people.” Thus, members of the Church do not view fellow believers around the world as adversaries or competitors, but as partners in the many causes for good in the world.

Interfaith Relationship

In a recent interfaith conference held in Bali on November 3, 2022, the organizers of the G20 Interfaith Forum invited leaders of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.  Elder Gary E. Stevenson of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles spoke of tolerance, hope and peace that resonated as he met with leaders of diverse faith traditions. Elder Stevenson said: “Our shared values with people of faith have compelled us to build bridges of interfaith understanding, foster relationships of racial harmony [and] promote fairness for all throughout society.”

And the Church of Jesus Christ is actively building and nurturing interfaith partnerships and understanding. For example, earlier this year, the Church published a pamphlet that introduces Muslims (followers of Islam) and Latter-day Saints to each other. 

Elder Gary E. Stevenson of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles shares the pamphlet “Muslims and Latter-day Saints: Beliefs, Values, and Lifestyles,” with Kyai Haji Yahya Cholil Staquf, general chairman of Nahdlatul Ulama Central Board, at the G20 Religion Forum in Bali, Indonesia, on Wednesday, November 2, 2022.2022 by Intellectual Reserve, Inc. All rights reserved.

“When citizens learn to live together with respect and unity despite religious differences, we have the foundational stones to true peace,” Elder Stevenson said. “The gospel of Jesus Christ calls on us to love people of all faiths, cultures, races and nations for the common good — all are alike unto God.” 

Locally, the Church is involved in interfaith activities in many areas, from food distribution to pantries operated by different faiths, to involvement in cleanup after a devastating fire that destroyed a church of another faith on the historic West Side, to participation in joint Christmas programs with other faiths, and other activities carried out on local levels.  

In addition, for over 30 years, the Church has been a member of the Interfaith Council of Southern Nevada where it is a regular participant in the annual fall interfaith forums and other interfaith activities sponsored by the IFCSN.  Through the forums, the Church and the IFCSN are working to promote mutual understanding, respect, appreciation and cooperation among people of various faith and cultural communities in Southern Nevada.    

It is important to note that interfaith cooperation does not require doctrinal compromise. Though the Church asserts its ecclesiastical independence and recognizes its doctrinal differences, this does not prevent it from partnering with other faiths in charitable projects and other joint activities.   

Our purpose in doing so is to assist in moving forward the mission of the Church by developing relationships with them and assisting them in understanding the Church, and, most importantly, assisting in meeting the needs of God’s children.   

Members of the Church are encouraged to become familiar with other houses of worship within their ward and stake boundaries and prayerfully seek opportunities to be of service to, or to interact with, those of other faiths.  Remembering always that people aren’t projects; they are our brothers and sisters – fellow travelers in the journey of life.  We want to be walking through life together, helping each other find the strength to overcome the obstacles and stumbling blocks along the way.  

Recent News:

Panaca, Nevada holds 7th Annual Community Day of Prayer

November 6, 2022 The 7th Annual Panaca, Nevada Community Day of Prayer was a huge success. It was the largest…

Giving Machines Highlighted on KTNV Las Vegas Morning Blend TV Show

KTNV’s hosts of The Morning Blend sat down with Joyce Haldeman, Chairperson of the Giving Machine Committee and Abby Quinn,…

Las Vegas to get Second Temple

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints will build 18 new houses of the Lord in the coming months…

More than 65 Volunteer Service Projects Completed Across Southern Nevada in Honor of 9/11 National Day of Service & Remembrance

September 2022 Latter-day Saints in Southern Nevada join with others giving service nationwide LAS VEGAS – In observance of the…

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints Supports Local Food Pantries

Persistent needs for food in Las Vegas have led the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints to continue pantry…

Author Honored by Historic Preservation Commission

Fred E. Woods has always had a fascination with Las Vegas, beginning in his childhood when his family drove down…

JustServe Summer Service Bingo

Don’t let summer boredom take over at your house! JustServe has service projects across Las Vegas and it’s easy to…

24,000 pounds of food distributed to Lake Havasu City, Needles, Bullhead City, and Kingman.

See the featured article: Community View: Offering a Hand Up. The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints has been…

285 Tons Of Food Donated To Food Banks And Service Organizations During COVID-19

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints donated 282 tons of food to food banks and service organizations during COVID-19. Donations supported families and individuals in need.

Start a New Hobby

Nicole Farnsworth People have been taking on new hobbies during the pandemic—cooking, jewelry making, or adopting new pets. One hobby,…